Well I will have to be totally honest and admit I was blown away by not only what the system can do from a graphical point of view but the 3D effect actually works and works well too. I think that pretty much sums up the system as a whole and really pushes the boat out as far as what a Nintendo console can do and that's not just a handheld system it's a home one too as the 3DS pretty much matches what the Wii can do and from some of the upcoming third party games surpasses it.

If anything due to the fact that developers are matching and in some cases surpassing Wii games does that just show how lazy they have been with developing the Wii games on the most part?

But that's not my point to this point I am fully enjoying the 3DS and the four games I have picked up on launch, Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition, Piolotwings Resort, Ridge Racer 3D and Pro Evolution Soccer 3D.

All four games I am pretty much loving too for one reason or another so I am gonna do a quick summary of all four;

Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition

Well first it's a great technical achievement they the have not only got the game onto a handheld system but it's near enough uncut from the console version and looks very very close to them as well, and from a control point of view it's easily the best fighting game I have ever played on a handheld system and only loses out to the home systems due to being a bit awkward. The 3d is used to a nice effect but has no real benefit in any way to the way the game plays just nice to show off the system and separates it from the home versions more.

Piolotwings Resort

Like a combination of Piolotwings 64 and Wii Sports Resort's flying sections and it suits the game well, a solid looking game that benefits from the 3D as you can really have a sense of depth when flying about and landing, it really is like a newer version of the N64 game in many ways just simply progress by getting enough passing scores and beating all the missions to unlock the next one, which I have to say I enjoy and good for a quick pick up as each mission is relatively short.

Ridge Racer 3D

The fact that it is a Ridge Racer at a console launch is not lost on me but Namco have really crammed loads into this game so they can be forgiven for that, and possible has the best use for the 3D of all the games I have picked up and the sense of depth really helps with the up coming corners as you can better judge how far away they are, the game though goes from look graphically rather bland to having moments off stunning brilliance due to a combination of both the scenery and the 3D effect, certainly shows that racing games can really benefit from the 3D.

Pro Evolution Soccer 3D

Ok I will admit this game is pretty basic stuff and the 3D effect is only any good in replays and the totally unplayable player cam and maybe from the odd corner kick or free kick to help better judge depth, but the game is solid none the less, if slightly lacking in features but for a decent game of football on the go it's very good, but I have a love for the series so I guess I would day that.

So as a whole I am enjoying it and it certainly outshines every other handheld on the market right now in every single respect.

As a note I should also be updating the site a bit more soon as it has been some time.



Leave a Reply.